10 Year Overnight Success – Black Oak Arkansas – 1976


Album 10 Year Overnight Success by Black Oak Arkansas
Album 10 Year Overnight Success by Black Oak Arkansas

10 Year Overnight Success is the seventh studio album by the American southern rock band Black Oak Arkansas, released in 1976 by MCA Records. The album features a mix of original songs and covers of classic rock and blues tunes, such as “Taxman” by The Beatles, “Fever” by Little Willie John, and “So You Want to Be a Rock ‘n’ Roll Star” by The Byrds. The album showcases the band’s trademark blend of hard rock, country, and soul, as well as their energetic live performance style. The album title reflects the band’s long and arduous journey to stardom, which began in the late 1960s and culminated in their breakthrough hit “Jim Dandy” in 1973. The album received positive reviews from critics and fans, and reached number 68 on the Billboard 200 chart.

The album 10 Year Overnight Success is a must-have for any fan of Southern rock, and it is also a good introduction to Black Oak Arkansas’ music for new listeners.


  • Jim “Dandy” Mangrum – lead vocals, washboard
  • Rickie Lee Reynolds – rhythm guitar, vocals
  • Pat Daugherty – bass, vocals
  • Stanley Knight – lead guitar, keyboards, vocals
  • Harvey Jett – lead guitar, banjo, piano, vocals
  • Tommy Aldridge – drums, percussion


The different versions published for this album :