A Different Kind of Truth – Van Halen – 2012


Album A Different Kind of Truth by Van Halen
Album A Different Kind of Truth by Van Halen

A Different Kind of Truth is the last studio album by the American rock band Van Halen, released in 2012 by Interscope Records.

It is the first album with new songs since Van Halen III in 1998, and the first one with lead singer David Lee Roth since 1984. It is also the only album without original bassist Michael Anthony, who was replaced by Wolfgang Van Halen, the son of guitarist Eddie Van Halen and actress Valerie Bertinelli. The album was produced by John Shanks and Van Halen, and features seven songs that were reworked from old demos from the late 1970s and early 1980s. The album received positive reviews from critics, who praised it as a return to form for the band. It also sold well, debuting at number two on the Billboard 200 chart and earning over 411,000 copies in the United States by the end of 2012. The album was supported by an arena tour that lasted from 2012 to 2013.

A Different Kind of Truth is a good nostalgia trip for Van Halen fans, but may not break new ground for the band.

The personnel who play in the album A Different Kind of Truth by Van Halen, released in 2012, are:

  • David Lee Roth – lead vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Eddie Van Halen – guitar, keyboards, backing vocals
  • Wolfgang Van Halen – bass, backing vocals
  • Alex Van Halen – drums, percussion


The different versions published for this album :