After The Gold Rush – Neil Young – 1970


After The Gold Rush - Neil Young - 1970
After The Gold Rush - Neil Young - 1970

After The Gold Rush is the third studio album by Canadian-American singer-songwriter Neil Young, released in September 1970 on Reprise Records. It is one of Young’s most acclaimed and influential albums, featuring a blend of folk, rock, country and psychedelic music. The album was inspired by a screenplay by Dean Stockwell and Herb Bermann, which depicted a post-apocalyptic world where the survivors seek refuge in the mountains. Young wrote most of the songs on the album after reading the script, and some of them reflect his own personal experiences and emotions. The album features guest appearances by David Crosby, Graham Nash, Stephen Stills and Nils Lofgren, as well as Young’s backing band Crazy Horse. The album was a commercial success, reaching number eight on the Billboard 200 chart and number seven on the UK Albums Chart. It also received critical acclaim, with Rolling Stone magazine ranking it as the 71st greatest album of all time in 2003. The album has been certified platinum by the RIAA and has sold over three million copies worldwide.

After The Gold Rush is considered to be one of Neil Young’s most important and influential albums. It is a must-have for any fan of rock music.


  • Neil Young – vocals, guitar, harmonica, piano, vibes
  • Danny Whitten – guitar, vocals
  • Nils Lofgren – guitar, piano, vocals
  • Jack Nitzsche – piano
  • Billy Talbot – bass guitar
  • Greg Reeves – bass guitar
  • Ralph Molina – drums, vocals
  • Stephen Stills – vocals
  • Bill Peterson – flugelhorn

The different versions published for this album :