Aqualung – Jethro Tull – 1971


Album Aqualung by Jethro Tul
Album Aqualung by Jethro Tul

Aqualung is the fourth studio album by the British progressive rock band Jethro Tull, released in March 1971. The album is widely regarded as one of the most influential and innovative albums of the genre, combining folk, hard rock, blues and classical elements. The album explores themes such as religion, social injustice, homelessness and alienation, through the use of complex musical arrangements, lyrical imagery and vocal delivery. The album features some of the band’s most popular songs, such as “Aqualung”, “Cross-Eyed Mary”, “Locomotive Breath” and “Hymn 43”. Aqualung was a commercial and critical success, reaching number four on the UK Albums Chart and number seven on the US Billboard 200. The album has sold over seven million copies worldwide and has been certified triple platinum by the RIAA.

Aqualung is a groundbreaking album that showcases Jethro Tull’s creativity and musicianship. The album is a must-have for any fan of progressive rock.


  • Ian Anderson – vocals, acoustic guitar, flute
  • Martin Barre – electric guitar, descant recorder
  • John Evan – piano, organ, mellotron
  • Jeffrey Hammond – bass guitar, alto recorder, backing vocals
  • Clive Bunker – drums, percussion

The different versions published for this album :