Archives – Rush – 1978



Boxset Archives by the band Rush
Boxset Archives by the band Rush

Archives is a compilation album by the Canadian rock band Rush, released in 1978. It contains the band’s first three studio albums: Rush (1974), Fly by Night (1975), and Caress of Steel (1976). The album was intended to introduce new fans to the band’s early work after their commercial breakthrough with 2112 (1976) and A Farewell to Kings (1977). It was remastered and reissued in 1997 as part of the “Rush Remasters” series.

Archives is a valuable collection for any Rush fan. It features some of the band’s earliest and most classic songs, such as “Working Man,” “Anthem,” and “Fly by Night.” The album also showcases the band’s early musical development, from their hard rock beginnings to their more complex and progressive sound.


  • The album was remastered and reissued in 1997 as part of the Rush Remasters series.
  • The personnel and credits of the album are as follows:
  • Geddy Lee – lead vocals, bass guitar, keyboards
  • Alex Lifeson – guitars, backing vocals
  • Neil Peart – drums, percussion (except on Rush)
  • John Rutsey – drums, backing vocals (on Rush)
  • Terry Brown – producer, engineer, mixing
  • David Greene – engineer (on Rush)
  • Bob Ludwig – mastering
  • Hugh Syme – art direction, design

The different versions published for this album :