Atom Heart Mother – Pink Floyd – 1970


Album Atom Heart Mother by the band Pink Floyd
Album Atom Heart Mother by the band Pink Floyd

“Atom Heart Mother” is the fifth studio album by the English progressive rock band Pink Floyd, released in 1970. The album is known for its experimental and diverse sound, incorporating elements of rock, orchestration, and avant-garde music. The title track, “Atom Heart Mother,” is a lengthy suite that takes up the entire first side of the album. It’s notable for featuring a collaboration with the avant-garde composer Ron Geesin and includes orchestral and choral elements.

The album also features other tracks on its second side. While I won’t provide the full tracklist as per your request, some of the other notable tracks on the album include:

1. “If” – A gentle and introspective song featuring acoustic guitar and vocals.
2. “Summer ’68” – A song with a more rock-oriented sound, featuring lead vocals by keyboardist Richard Wright.
3. “Fat Old Sun” – A melodic and atmospheric track with prominent guitar work.
4. “Alan’s Psychedelic Breakfast” – Divided into several parts, this track includes spoken word segments and sound effects, creating an immersive audio experience.

“Atom Heart Mother” is regarded as a transitional album in Pink Floyd’s discography, bridging the gap between their earlier psychedelic sound and their later progressive and conceptual style. The album’s combination of different musical elements and its willingness to experiment contribute to its unique and enduring appeal.

Atom Heart Mother is a truly special album that captures the essence of Pink Floyd and their music. It is a must-have for any fan of progressive rock music.


  • David Gilmour – vocals, guitars, bass guitar
  • Roger Waters – vocals, bass guitar, tape effects
  • Richard Wright – vocals, keyboards, piano
  • Nick Mason – drums, percussion, tape effects
  • Ron Geesin – orchestration, co-composer of “Atom Heart Mother”
  • Alan Parsons – engineering
  • Peter Bown – engineering
  • John Aldiss Choir – vocals on “Atom Heart Mother”
  • Abbey Road Session Pops Orchestra – brass and orchestral sections on “Atom Heart Mother”

The different versions published for this album :