Between Good and Evil – Santana – 1998



Album Between Good and Evil by Santana
Album Between Good and Evil by Santana

Between Good and Evil is a compilation album by the American rock band Santana, released in 1998 by Sony Music. It features some of the band’s most popular songs from their 1969-1977 Columbia Records era, such as “Black Magic Woman”, “Evil Ways”, “Samba Pa Ti”, and “Europa”. The album also includes tracks from lesser-known albums like Caravanserai, Borboletta, Amigos, Festival, and Moonflower. Between Good and Evil showcases the band’s fusion of rock, Latin, funk, and soul music, as well as Carlos Santana’s distinctive guitar style. The album is a good introduction for casual fans who want to explore Santana’s early work.

Between Good and Evil is considered to be a valuable compilation album that showcases Santana’s diverse sound. The album is a must-have for any fan of the band.


  • Carlos Santana – lead guitar, vocals, producer
  • Wyclef Jean – rhythm guitar, vocals, producer
  • Lauryn Hill – vocals on “Do You Like the Way”
  • Dave Matthews – vocals on “Love of My Life”
  • Everlast – vocals on “Put Your Lights On”
  • Rob Thomas – vocals on “Smooth”
  • Eric Clapton – lead guitar on “The Calling”
  • Maná – vocals and rhythm section on “Corazón Espinado”
  • Eagle-Eye Cherry – vocals on “Wishing It Was”
  • Cee-Lo Green – vocals on “Do You Like the Way”
  • Product G&B – vocals on “Maria Maria”
  • K. C. Porter – keyboards, vocals, producer
  • Chester Thompson – keyboards
  • Benny Rietveld – bass
  • Rodney Holmes – drums
  • Karl Perazzo – percussion, vocals
  • Raul Rekow – congas, percussion, vocals
  • Tony Lindsay – vocals
  • Jeanie Tracy – vocals
  • Peggi Blu – vocals
  • KB Porter – vocals

The different versions published for this album :