Blowin’ Away – Joan Baez – 1977


Album Blowin' Away by Joan Baez
Album Blowin' Away by Joan Baez

“Blowin’ Away” is the twelfth studio album by American folk singer-songwriter Joan Baez, released in 1977. The album features a mix of original songs and covers, showcasing Baez’s signature folk sound and her poignant vocal delivery.

Some of the notable tracks on “Blowin’ Away” include the title track “Blowin’ Away,” “Warriors of the Sun,” “Time Rag,” and a cover of John Lennon’s “Imagine.” The album incorporates a range of musical styles, from introspective ballads to more upbeat and folk-rock influenced tracks.

As an influential figure in the folk music scene, Joan Baez’s “Blowin’ Away” demonstrates her continued commitment to social and political themes, as well as her ability to connect with audiences through her emotive performances.

If you appreciate folk music or have an interest in Joan Baez’s discography, “Blowin’ Away” serves as a notable addition to her body of work. It showcases her expressive vocals and her ability to convey powerful messages through her music.

Blowin’ Away is a solid album that showcases Joan Baez’s versatility as an artist. The album is a mix of classic folk, pop, and even a bit of country. Baez’s vocals are as powerful and passionate as ever, and the songwriting is top-notch. While the album may not be as politically charged as her earlier work, it is still an important album in her discography.


  • Joan Baez – vocals, guitar
  • David Briggs – keyboards
  • Kenny Buttrey – drums
  • Grady Martin – electric guitar
  • Charlie McCoy – harmonica, vibraphone
  • Norbert Putnam – bass
  • Buddy Spicher – violin

The different versions published for this album :