Choose Your Masques – Hawkwind – 1982


Album Choose Your Masques by Hawkwind
Album Choose Your Masques by Hawkwind

“Choose Your Masques” is indeed an album by the British space rock band Hawkwind, released in 1982. It was their thirteenth studio album and featured a lineup consisting of Dave Brock, Harvey Bainbridge, Huw Lloyd-Langton, Dave Charles, and Keith Hale.

“Choose Your Masques” showcased Hawkwind’s signature blend of psychedelic and space rock, incorporating elements of science fiction and fantasy themes in their music. The album featured tracks like “Choose Your Masques,” “Waiting for Tomorrow,” and “Dream Worker.”

Hawkwind has been influential in the realm of progressive and psychedelic rock, known for their extensive discography and captivating live performances.

Choose Your Masques is a transitional album for Hawkwind, marking the end of the band’s classic era and the beginning of their new space rock sound. The album is notable for its use of synthesizers and its more electronic sound. The album is often cited as a must-have for any fan of the band’s later work.


  • Dave Brock – electric guitar, keyboards, vocals
  • Huw Lloyd-Langton – electric guitar, acoustic guitar, vocals
  • Harvey Bainbridge – bass guitar, keyboards, vocals
  • Martin Griffin – drums
  • Nik Turner – saxophone, flute, vocals (on tracks 1 and 9)
  • Ginger Baker – drums (on track 10)

The different versions published for this album :