Departure – Journey – 1980


Album Departure by the band Journey
Album Departure by the band Journey

Departure is the sixth studio album by American rock band Journey, released in 1980. It was the band’s first album to feature keyboardist Gregg Rolie as a co-producer, and also marked a shift in their musical style from progressive rock to a more radio-friendly arena rock sound. The album spawned three hit singles: “Any Way You Want It”, “Walks Like a Lady”, and “Good Morning Girl”. Departure was a commercial success, reaching number eight on the Billboard 200 chart and selling over three million copies in the US. It also received positive reviews from critics, who praised the band’s energy, diversity, and songwriting.

Departure is considered to be one of Journey’s best albums. It is a must-have for any fan of rock music.


  • Steve Perry – lead vocals
  • Neal Schon – guitar, backing vocals
  • Ross Valory – bass, backing vocals
  • Gregg Rolie – keyboards, backing vocals
  • Steve Smith – drums, percussion

The different versions published for this album :