Eruption – Mountain – 2004



Album Eruption by the band Mountain
Album Eruption by the band Mountain

Eruption is the fifth studio album by the American rock band Mountain, released in 2004. The album marks the return of the original lineup of Leslie West, Felix Pappalardi, Corky Laing and Steve Knight, who had not recorded together since 1974. The album features a mix of new songs and re-recorded classics from the band’s early albums, such as “Mississippi Queen”, “Nantucket Sleighride” and “Theme from an Imaginary Western”. The album also includes a cover of Bob Dylan’s “Blowin’ in the Wind” and a tribute to Pappalardi’s wife and collaborator Gail Collins, who was killed by him in 1983. Eruption showcases the band’s trademark heavy blues rock sound, with West’s powerful guitar riffs and vocals, Pappalardi’s melodic bass lines and vocals, Laing’s energetic drumming and Knight’s atmospheric keyboards. The album received positive reviews from critics and fans, who praised the band’s reunion and performance. Eruption peaked at number 87 on the Billboard 200 chart and sold over 100,000 copies in the US.

Eruption is a solid return to form for Mountain, but it doesn’t quite capture the magic of their classic albums. It is a good album for fans of the band, but it is not essential listening.

The personnel of the album Eruption by Mountain, released in 2004, are as follows:

  • Leslie West – guitar, vocals
  • Corky Laing – drums, vocals
  • Mark Clarke – bass, vocals (tracks 1-1 to 1-7)
  • Richie Scarlet – bass, vocals (tracks 2-1 to 2-7)

Source: Web

The different versions published for this album :