Friends in the Can – Canned Heat – 2003


Album Friends in the Can by the band Canned Heat
Album Friends in the Can by the band Canned Heat

“Friends in the Can” is an album by the American blues-rock band Canned Heat, released in 2003. This album features recordings that were made in the late 1990s and early 2000s, but it wasn’t released until 2003. The album includes both new original songs and covers of classic blues tracks, which is characteristic of Canned Heat’s style.

Canned Heat is known for their energetic and authentic approach to blues and boogie rock, and “Friends in the Can” continues to showcase their signature sound. Some of the tracks on the album include “Gorgo Boogie,” “World of Make Believe,” “The Fat Cat Keeps Getting Fatter,” and “Future Blues.”

While the album didn’t receive as much attention as some of Canned Heat’s earlier works from the late 1960s and early 1970s, it still appeals to fans of the band’s bluesy and rock-driven music. “Friends in the Can” adds to Canned Heat’s extensive discography and serves as a testament to their commitment to the blues genre throughout their career.

Canned Heat’s 2003 album, “Friends in the Can,” is a solid collection of blues-rock songs that showcases the band’s enduring talent and ability to deliver a satisfying blend of raw energy and soulful musicianship.

The personnel of the album Friends in the Can by Canned Heat, released in 2003, are:

  • Greg Kage: Bass (tracks: 1 to 4, 7 to 11)
  • Larry Taylor: Bass (tracks: 6, 11, 13), Double Bass [Upright Bass] (track: 5)
  • Stanley Behrens: Congas (track: 8), Flute, Harmonica, Horn (tracks: 1, 5), Vocals (tracks: 1, 5)
  • Fito de la Parra: Drums, Percussion, Producer, Timbales, Directed By
  • Dallas Hodge: Guitar (tracks: 4, 8, 14), Lead Guitar (tracks: 1, 2, 7), Rhythm Guitar (track: 3), Vocals (tracks: 2, 3, 6, 7)
  • Henry Vestine: Guitar (track: 11)
  • John Paulus: Guitar (tracks: 4, 5, 7, 9, 10, 14), Lead Guitar (tracks: 3, 8), Rhythm Guitar (tracks: 1 to 3, 8), Slide Guitar (track: 6)
  • Corey Stevens: Lead Guitar, Vocals (tracks: 4, 14)
  • Walter Trout: Lead Guitar, Vocals (track: 9)
  • Mike Finnigan: Organ (tracks: 4, 14)
  • Skip Taylor: Producer, Directed By
  • Harvey Mandel: Rhythm Guitar (tracks: 6, 13)
  • Roy Rogers (2): Slide Guitar (track: 2)
  • Robert Lucas: Slide Guitar, Vocals (track: 13)
  • John Lee Hooker: Vocals (track:11)
  • Taj Mahal: Vocals (track:10)

Source: Web

The different versions published for this album :