Ghost In The Machine – The Police – 1981


Album Ghost In The Machine by The Police
Album Ghost In The Machine by The Police

Ghost In The Machine is the fourth studio album by the English rock band The Police, released on October 2, 1981 by A&M Records. The album was co-produced by the band and Hugh Padgham, and recorded at AIR Studios in Montserrat and Le Studio in Quebec. The album features a more experimental and diverse sound than the band’s previous albums, incorporating keyboards, horns, guitar synthesizers, and reggae influences. The album spawned three hit singles: “Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic”, “Invisible Sun”, and “Spirits in the Material World”. The album also reflects the band’s political and social concerns, such as the conflict in Northern Ireland, the dehumanization of modern society, and the quest for spiritual enlightenment. Ghost In The Machine was a critical and commercial success, reaching number one in the UK and number two in the US. The album was ranked number 322 on Rolling Stone’s list of the 500 greatest albums of all time.

Ghost In The Machine is a must-have album for any fan of rock music, new wave, or reggae music. It is a timeless classic that continues to be enjoyed by listeners of all ages.


  • Sting – lead and backing vocals, bass guitar, keyboards, saxophone
  • Andy Summers – guitars, keyboards, backing vocals
  • Stewart Copeland – drums, percussion, keyboards, backing vocals

The different versions published for this album :