High Above The Subterania Club 2000 – Gong – 2015



Album High Above The Subterania Club 2000 by Gong
Album High Above The Subterania Club 2000 by Gong

High Above The Subterania Club 2000 is a live album and DVD by the psychedelic rock band Gong, released in 2015 by Madfish Records. The album captures the performance of the band at the Subterania Club in London on April 6th, 2000, during the launch party for their studio album Zero to Infinity. The lineup features founding members Daevid Allen, Gilli Smyth and Didier Malherbe, along with Mike Howlett, Theo Travis, Chris Taylor, Gwyo Zepix and Steffe Sharpstrings. The DVD also includes an uncredited interview with Daevid Allen.

The album showcases the band’s unique blend of jazz-rock, psychedelic rock and prog rock, with songs spanning their entire career. The setlist includes classics like Radio Gnome Invisible, Zero the Hero and the Witch’s Spell, I Am Your Pussy and You Can’t Kill Me, as well as newer tracks like Zeroid, Yoni on Mars and Magdalene. The band also performs several instrumental pieces, such as Bodilingus, Doudouk Solo, Infinitea and Master Builder. The DVD features a stereo 2.0 and a Dolby 5.1 surround sound mix, as well as a full concert video with psychedelic visuals.

High Above The Subterania Club 2000 is a must-have for Gong fans and a great introduction for newcomers to the band’s eccentric and adventurous music. It is a testament to the band’s creativity and longevity, as well as a tribute to Daevid Allen, who passed away in 2015.


  • Bass – Mike Howlett
  • Design [Coverdesign] – Daevid Allen, David Gregson
  • Drums, Vocals – Chris Taylor
  • Duduk [Doudouk], Saxophone [Saxes], Flute – Didier Malherbe
  • Engineer [Recording Mixmaster] – Ben Mathews *, Dean Barratt
  • Guest, Electronics – Basil Brookes *
  • Guest, Guitar – Steffe Sharpstrings
  • Keyboards, Electronics, Vocals – Gwyo Zepix *
  • Saxophone [Saxes], Flute – Theo Travis
  • Vocals [Spacewhisper] – Gilli Smyth
  • Vocals, Guitar – Daevid Allen

Source: Bing

The different versions published for this album :