Ignition – Jefferson Airplane – 2001



Album Ignition by Jefferson Airplane
Album Ignition by Jefferson Airplane

Ignition is a box set that contains the first four albums of Jefferson Airplane, a legendary rock band from the 1960s. The albums are Jefferson Airplane Takes Off, Surrealistic Pillow, After Bathing at Baxters, and Crown of Creation. The box set was released in 2001 by RCA Records and features remastered versions of the original recordings, some of them in both stereo and mono. The box set also includes liner notes by Jeff Tamarkin, a biographer of the band.

The four albums showcase the evolution of Jefferson Airplane from a folk-rock group to a psychedelic rock band, with influences from jazz, blues, and classical music. The band’s lineup changed over the years, but the core members were Marty Balin, Paul Kantner, Grace Slick, Jorma Kaukonen, Jack Casady, and Spencer Dryden. Some of their most famous songs are Somebody to Love, White Rabbit, Volunteers, and Lather.

Ignition is a must-have for fans of Jefferson Airplane and classic rock music. It captures the spirit and creativity of one of the most influential bands in rock history.


  • Ignition – Jefferson Airplane – 2001
  • Produced by Jack Casady and Jorma Kaukonen
  • Recorded at The Plant Studios, Sausalito, California
  • Mixed by Joe Gastwirt
  • Mastered by Bob Ludwig
  • Cover art by Grace Slick
  • Band members: Grace Slick (vocals), Marty Balin (vocals), Paul Kantner (guitar, vocals), Jorma Kaukonen (guitar, vocals), Jack Casady (bass), Spencer Dryden (drums)
  • Guest musicians: David Crosby (vocals), Jerry Garcia (guitar), Nicky Hopkins (piano), Stephen Stills (guitar)

The different versions published for this album :