Kansas – Kansas – 1974


Album Kansas by Kansas
Album Kansas by Kansas

Kansas is the self-titled debut album by the American progressive rock band Kansas, released in 1974. The album showcases the band’s distinctive blend of hard rock, classical, and folk influences, as well as their virtuosic musicianship and complex arrangements. The album features some of the band’s most enduring songs, such as “Journey from Mariabronn”, “Belexes”, and “Death of Mother Nature Suite”. The album was well received by critics and fans alike, and established Kansas as one of the leading bands in the genre.

Kansas is a groundbreaking album that helped to define the sound of progressive rock. The album is a must-have for any fan of the genre.


  • Produced by Wally Gold
  • Engineered by Dino Airali and Mark Friedman
  • Recorded at Record Plant Studios, New York City
  • Mixed by Lee Peterzell and Wally Gold
  • Mastered by Bob Ludwig at Sterling Sound, New York City
  • Cover design by Ed Lee and Dean Torrence
  • Photography by Don Hunstein
  • Band members:
    • Steve Walsh – lead vocals, keyboards, percussion
    • Kerry Livgren – guitars, keyboards, backing vocals
    • Robbie Steinhardt – violin, lead and backing vocals
    • Dave Hope – bass guitar, backing vocals
    • Rich Williams – guitars
    • Phil Ehart – drums, percussion

The different versions published for this album :