Keys Of The Kingdom – The Moody Blues


Keys Of The Kingdom is the title of the fourteenth studio album by the English rock band The Moody Blues, released in 1991. The album features a mix of rock and pop songs, with some of them recalling the band’s earlier style of progressive rock. The album did not produce any major hit singles, and marked the beginning of the band’s decline in popularity with mainstream audiences. However, some fans and critics praised the album for its return to a more airy and melodic sound, as well as the increased role of flautist Ray Thomas. The album was recorded and mixed at four London studios, with three different producers: Christopher Neil, Alan Tarney and Tony Visconti. It was also the last album to feature keyboardist Patrick Moraz, who was fired from the band after completing only a few tracks. He was replaced by two session musicians: Tobias Boshell and Paul Bliss. The album contains 11 tracks, with lead vocals shared by Justin Hayward, John Lodge and Ray Thomas. Some of the songs deal with themes of love, hope, spirituality and nature. The album’s title track is a reference to the biblical phrase “the keys of the kingdom”, which signifies authority and power.

The different versions published for this album :