Live – Magma – 1975



Album Live by the band Magma
Album Live by the band Magma

“Live” is a live album by the French progressive rock band Magma. It was released in 1975 and captures a dynamic live performance by the band, showcasing their unique and complex fusion of rock, jazz, and classical music.

Magma, led by composer and drummer Christian Vander, is known for their innovative and avant-garde approach to music. Their compositions are characterized by intricate arrangements, complex rhythms, and operatic vocals sung in their own invented language called “Kobaïan.”

The “Live” album features recordings from various concerts, including performances of Magma’s epic compositions like “Köhntarkösz,” “Mekanïk Destruktïw Kommandöh,” and “Theusz Hamtaahk.” These lengthy and immersive tracks showcase the band’s technical prowess and their ability to create a unique and otherworldly musical experience.

Magma’s music is often considered challenging and highly experimental, pushing the boundaries of progressive rock. The “Live” album provides a captivating glimpse into their intense and mesmerizing live performances, allowing listeners to experience the band’s music in its full force and energy.

Magma Live is a must-have album for any fan of progressive rock or avant-garde music. It is a raw and powerful album that captures the band’s unique sound at its best. It is an essential part of any collection of progressive rock music.


  • Christian Vander – drums, vocals, percussion
  • Jannick Top – bass, cello, vocals
  • Klaus Blasquiz – vocals, percussion
  • Stella Vander – vocals, percussion
  • Bernard Paganotti – bass, vocals
  • Didier Lockwood – violin, vocals
  • Gabriel Federow – guitar, vocals
  • Benoît Widemann – keyboards, synthesizer

The different versions published for this album :