Making Movies – Dire Straits – 1980


Album Making Movies by Dire Straits
Album Making Movies by Dire Straits

Making Movies is the title of the third studio album by the British rock band Dire Straits, released in 1980. The album features the hit single “Romeo and Juliet”, as well as the songs “Tunnel of Love” and “Skateaway”. The album was produced by Jimmy Iovine and Mark Knopfler, and it marked a departure from the previous two albums, which were recorded in a traditional rock format with two guitars, bass and drums. Making Movies introduced keyboardist Roy Bittan, who added a new dimension to the band’s sound with his piano and synthesizer parts. The album also showed a more cinematic and storytelling approach to songwriting, influenced by Mark Knopfler’s love of film. The album reached number one in Italy and Norway, number four in the UK, and number 19 in the US. It was certified platinum in the US and double-platinum in the UK, and it is widely regarded as one of Dire Straits’ best albums.

Making Movies is considered to be one of Dire Straits’ best albums. It is notable for its experimental sound, powerful performances, and Knopfler’s songwriting. The album is often cited as a must-have for any fan of rock music.


  • Mark Knopfler – Vocals, Guitar
  • John Illsley – Bass Guitar, Vocals
  • Pick Withers – Drums
  • Roy Bittan – Keyboards
  • Sid McGinnis – Guitar on “Tunnel of Love”
  • Jimmy Maelen – Percussion

The different versions published for this album :