MTV Unplugged – Alanis Morissette – 1999



Album MTV Unplugged by Alanis Morissette
Album MTV Unplugged by Alanis Morissette

MTV Unplugged is the fifth album by Canadian singer-songwriter Alanis Morissette, released in 1999. It was recorded live at the Brooklyn Academy of Music in New York City on September 18, 1999, as part of the MTV Unplugged series. The album features acoustic versions of some of Morissette’s most popular songs, such as “You Oughta Know”, “Ironic”, and “Thank U”, as well as new songs like “King of Pain” and “No Pressure over Cappuccino”. The album showcases Morissette’s vocal range and emotional depth, as well as her ability to reinterpret her own songs in a different setting. MTV Unplugged received positive reviews from critics, who praised Morissette’s performance and song selection. The album also sold well, reaching number one in Canada and number four in the United States. It was certified platinum by the RIAA and won a Grammy Award for Best Female Rock Vocal Performance in 2000.

MTV Unplugged is a timeless classic that continues to be enjoyed by fans of Alanis Morissette and alternative rock music alike. It is a must-have album for any collection. I hope this review was helpful. Please let me know if you have any other questions.


  • Alanis Morissette – vocals, harmonica, guitar
  • Joel Shearer – guitar
  • Nick Lashley – guitar
  • Chris Chaney – bass
  • Blair Sinta – drums
  • Deron Johnson – keyboards
  • Jenifer Kries – backing vocals



The different versions published for this album :