My Own Way – Richie Havens – 2012


Album My Own Way by Richie Havens
Album My Own Way by Richie Havens

My Own Way is the twenty-second and final studio album by American folk singer and guitarist Richie Havens, released in 2012. The album consists of 13 tracks, mostly covers of songs by artists such as Bob Dylan, The Beatles, Jackson Browne, and Stevie Wonder. Havens showcases his distinctive voice and acoustic guitar style, as well as his ability to reinterpret songs with his own personal touch. The album also features two original songs, “The Key” and “Say It Isn’t So”, co-written by Havens and his longtime collaborator Walter Parks. My Own Way is a fitting farewell from a legendary musician who passed away in 2013, leaving behind a legacy of soulful and inspiring music.

My Own Way is a must-have for any fan of Richie Havens. It is a valuable collection of rare and unreleased material, and it is a testament to the artist’s enduring popularity.


  • Richie Havens – vocals, guitar
  • Walter Parks – guitar, bass, keyboards, backing vocals
  • Stephan Diethelm – guitar, bass, keyboards, backing vocals
  • Stephan Wissnet – drums, percussion, keyboards, backing vocals
  • Stephanie Winters – cello
  • James Wormworth – drums
  • Tommy Mandel – keyboards
  • John Conte – bass
  • Dave Eggar – cello
  • Chuck Palmer – percussion
  • David Leach – percussion
  • Kate McGarry – backing vocals
  • Kendra Ross – backing vocals

The different versions published for this album :