Mystery Disc – Frank Zappa – 1985



Album Mystery Disc by Frank Zappa
Album Mystery Disc by Frank Zappa

Mystery Disc is a compilation album by Frank Zappa, released on CD in 1998. It contains tracks that were originally released on two vinyl records, which were part of the mail order Old Masters box sets. These box sets, released in 1985 and 1986, featured repressings of Zappa’s albums from 1966 to 1976, along with a mystery disc in each box. The CD version of Mystery Disc omits two tracks that were later included on the CD version of Absolutely Free.

The tracks on Mystery Disc span the early stages of Zappa’s career, from 1962 to 1972, and include studio recordings, live performances, radio shows, field recordings, and collages. Some of the tracks feature Captain Beefheart on vocals, such as “I Was a Teen-Age Malt Shop”, “The Birth of Captain Beefheart”, and “Metal Man Has Won His Wings”. Other tracks showcase Zappa’s experiments with different genres, such as “Bossa Nova Pervertamento”, “Speed-Freak Boogie”, and “Chucha”. The album also contains some rare and unreleased versions of songs that appeared on other albums, such as “Theme from Run Home Slow”, “Original Duke of Prunes”, and “Plastic People”.

Mystery Disc is a fascinating glimpse into the creative process and evolution of one of the most innovative and influential musicians of the 20th century. It is a must-have for any fan of Frank Zappa and his music.

Mystery Disc is a truly special album that captures the essence of Frank Zappa and his music. It is a must-have for any fan of experimental music.


  • Frank Zappa – guitar, vocals, producer
  • Steve Vai – guitar
  • Ray White – vocals
  • Tommy Mars – keyboards, vocals
  • Arthur Barrow – bass, vocals
  • Ed Mann – percussion
  • Chad Wackerman – drums
  • Bobby Martin – saxophone, vocals
  • Scott Thunes – bass on “Lost in a Whirlpool”
  • Craig Twister Stewart – harmonica on “Lost in a Whirlpool”


The different versions published for this album :