Outlandos D’amour – The Police – 1978


Album Outlandos D’amour by The Police
Album Outlandos D’amour by The Police

Outlandos D’Amour is the first studio album by the English rock band The Police, released on November 2, 1978 by A&M Records. The album combines different musical styles, such as punk rock, reggae, jazz and pop. It features three hit singles: “Roxanne”, “Can’t Stand Losing You” and “So Lonely”. The album was recorded at Surrey Sound Studios in Leatherhead between January and June 1978, with a budget of £1,500 borrowed from their manager Miles Copeland, who was also the brother of drummer Stewart Copeland. The album title is a loose French translation of “Outlaws of Love”, with the word “Outlandos” being a combination of “outlaws” and “commandos”. The album received mixed reviews upon its release, but has since been regarded as one of the best debut albums of all time.

Outlandos d’Amour is considered to be one of The Police’s best albums. It is a must-have for any fan of rock music.


  • Sting – lead vocals, bass guitar, harmonica
  • Andy Summers – guitar, backing vocals
  • Stewart Copeland – drums, percussion, backing vocals

The different versions published for this album :