Pearl – Janis Joplin


Album Pearl by Janis Joplin
Album Pearl by Janis Joplin

Pearl is the name of the second and final solo album by Janis Joplin, released in January 1971, three months after her death. The album was recorded with the Full Tilt Boogie Band, her last touring group, and features some of her most famous songs, such as “Me and Bobby McGee”, “Mercedes Benz” and “Get It While You Can”. The album showcases Joplin’s extraordinary vocal talents and her collaboration with producer Paul A. Rothchild, who gave it a more polished feel than her previous albums. Pearl is widely regarded as one of Joplin’s best works and a classic of blues rock and soul music.

Pearl is considered to be one of the greatest albums of all time. It is a must-have for any fan of blues rock or Janis Joplin. The album is a testament to her powerful vocals and her ability to connect with her audience.


  • Janis Joplin – vocals, acoustic guitar on “Me and Bobby McGee”
  • Richard Bell – piano
  • Vinnie Bell – electric guitar
  • Ken Pearson – organ
  • John Till – electric guitar
  • Bobby Womack – acoustic guitar on “Trust Me”
  • Cornell Dupree – electric guitar on “Buried Alive in the Blues”
  • Sandra Crouch – tambourine on “Move Over”
  • Clark Pierson – drums
  • Bobbye Hall – congas, bongos, percussion
  • Brad Campbell – bass guitar
  • Pearl Reeves – background vocals on “Cry Baby”
  • Vince Mitchell – background vocals on “Cry Baby”
  • Phil Badella – background vocals on “Cry Baby”
  • John Cooke – background vocals on “Mercedes Benz”
  • Full Tilt Boogie Band – all other instruments and background vocals

The different versions published for this album :