Progressive Story – Pink Floyd



Progressive Story is a compilation album by the British rock band Pink Floyd, released in 1971. The album features songs from their previous albums, The Piper at the Gates of Dawn (1967), A Saucerful of Secrets (1968), More (1969), Ummagumma (1969) and Atom Heart Mother (1970), as well as two unreleased tracks, “Embryo” and “Fat Old Sun”. The album showcases the band’s evolution from psychedelic pop to progressive rock, with themes ranging from childhood nostalgia to space exploration. The album also features some of the band’s most experimental and avant-garde compositions, such as “Several Species of Small Furry Animals Gathered Together in a Cave and Grooving with a Pict” and “A Saucerful of Secrets”. Progressive Story is a rare and valuable collector’s item, as it was only released in a limited number of countries and has never been reissued on CD or digital formats.

The different versions published for this album :