Saxon – Saxon – 1979



“Saxon” is the debut studio album by the English heavy metal band Saxon. It was released in 1979 and is often referred to as “Saxon” or “The Blue Album” due to its distinctive blue cover.

The album features a raw and energetic sound, showcasing Saxon’s blend of hard rock and heavy metal. It includes tracks such as “Rainbow Theme,” “Backs to the Wall,” “Militia Guard,” and “Stallions of the Highway.” The album helped establish Saxon’s reputation as one of the leading bands in the New Wave of British Heavy Metal (NWOBHM) movement.

“Saxon” received positive reviews upon its release and served as a launching pad for the band’s successful career. It laid the foundation for their subsequent albums and solidified their sound and style.

If you are a fan of classic heavy metal or interested in exploring the early days of Saxon’s discography, their self-titled debut album is a recommended listen.

The album Saxon was a major influence on many other heavy metal bands, including Metallica, Iron Maiden, and Judas Priest. It is considered to be one of the most important albums in the history of heavy metal music.


  • Biff Byford – lead vocals
  • Graham Oliver – guitar
  • Paul Quinn – guitar
  • Steve Dawson – bass
  • Pete Gill – drums

The different versions published for this album :