Secret World Live – Peter Gabriel – 1994



Secret World Live - Peter Gabriel - 1994
Secret World Live - Peter Gabriel - 1994

Secret World Live is a live album by British musician Peter Gabriel, released in 1994. The album was recorded during two concerts in November 1993 at the Palasport Nuovo in Modena, Italy, as part of Gabriel’s Secret World Tour. The tour was in support of his sixth studio album, Us, which was released in 1992.

The album features a mix of Gabriel’s solo songs and some of his hits from his time with Genesis, such as “Solsbury Hill” and “In Your Eyes”. The album also includes guest appearances by singer Youssou N’Dour, violinist Shankar, and guitarist David Rhodes. The album showcases Gabriel’s theatrical and innovative stage production, which involved a circular stage divided into two halves by a retractable wall. The wall symbolized the themes of separation and connection that Gabriel explored in his music.

Secret World Live received positive reviews from critics, who praised Gabriel’s performance, song selection, and production. The album was also a commercial success, reaching number nine on the UK Albums Chart and number 67 on the Billboard 200 in the US. The album was certified gold by the British Phonographic Industry and platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America. A video of the same name, directed by François Girard, was also released in 1994 and won a Grammy Award for Best Long Form Music Video.

Secret World Live is considered to be one of Peter Gabriel’s best live albums. It is notable for its dark and atmospheric sound, powerful performances, and Gabriel’s charismatic vocals. The album is often cited as a must-have for any fan of the band.


  • Peter Gabriel – Vocals, Keyboards
  • Manu Katché – Drums, Percussion
  • Tony Levin – Bass, Chapman Stick, Backing Vocals
  • David Rhodes – Guitar, Backing Vocals
  • Jean-Claude Naimro – Keyboards, Backing Vocals
  • Shankar – Violin, Vocals
  • L. Shankar – Double Violin, Vocals
  • Levon Minassian – Doudouk
  • David Sancious – Keyboards, Guitar, Backing Vocals
  • Paula Cole – Vocals
  • Ayub Ogada – Vocals, Percussion
  • Manny Elias – Drums

The different versions published for this album :