Shangó – Santana – 1982


Shangó - Santana
Shangó - Santana

Shangó is the thirteenth studio album by Santana, released in 1982. The album was inspired by the Afro-Cuban god of thunder and lightning, Shangó. The music on the album is a mix of rock, salsa, and jazz, and it features guest appearances by several prominent Latin musicians, including Willie Colón, Ruben Blades, and Conga player Armando Peraza.

The album was a commercial success, reaching number 22 on the Billboard 200 album charts. The single “Hold On” from the album reached number 15 in the U.S. Billboard Hot 100 singles chart and number 17 on Billboard’s Top Tracks chart.

Shangó is a diverse and exciting album that showcases Santana’s ability to blend different musical genres. The album is a must-listen for fans of Santana or Latin music in general.

Shangó is a classic album that continues to be enjoyed by fans of Santana and Latin music alike. It is a testament to the band’s enduring talent and creativity.


The personnel of the album Shangó by Santana, released in 1982, are as follows:

  • Carlos Santana – guitar, vocals, producer
  • Armando Peraza – bongos, congas, percussion
  • Orestes Vilató – timbales, percussion
  • Raul Rekow – congas, percussion
  • David Margen – bass
  • Richard Baker – keyboards
  • Graham Lear – drums
  • Alex Ligertwood – vocals
  • Greg Walker – vocals

The different versions published for this album :