Silent Knight – Saga – 1980


Album Silent Knight by the band Saga
Album Silent Knight by the band Saga

Silent Knight is the eighth studio album by the Canadian progressive rock band Saga, released in 1980. The album marks a transition from the band’s early synthesizer-driven sound to a more guitar-oriented style, influenced by the new wave and arena rock movements. The album features some of the band’s most popular songs, such as “Don’t Be Late”, “Careful Where You Step” and “Too Much to Lose”. Silent Knight also showcases the band’s lyrical themes of fantasy, science fiction and social commentary, as well as their trademark vocal harmonies and complex arrangements. The album was a commercial success, reaching the top 40 in Canada and Germany, and spawning two singles: “Don’t Be Late” and “Careful Where You Step”. Silent Knight is widely regarded as one of the band’s best albums and a classic of the progressive rock genre.

Silent Knight is considered one of Saga’s best albums. It is a good introduction to their music for new listeners and a great album for fans of their work.

The personnel of the album Silent Knight by the Canadian progressive rock band Saga, released in 1980, are as follows :

  • Michael Sadler – lead vocals, keyboards, bass guitar
  • Ian Crichton – electric and acoustic guitars
  • Jim Gilmour – keyboards, Moog synthesizers, vocoder, backing vocals
  • Jim Crichton – bass guitar, synth bass, Moog Taurus bass synthesizer
  • Steve Negus – drums, percussion

The album was produced by Paul Gross and engineered by Alan Thorne and Mick Walsh.



The different versions published for this album :