Space Bandits – Hawkwind – 1990


Album Space Bandits by Hawkwind
Album Space Bandits by Hawkwind

Space Bandits is the fourteenth studio album by the British space rock band Hawkwind, released in 1990. The album features a new line-up of the band, with only Dave Brock and Harvey Bainbridge remaining from the previous year’s The Xenon Codex. The new members include vocalist Bridget Wishart, who would be the first and only woman to be an official member of Hawkwind, and guitarist Simon House, who returns to the band after a decade. The album also marks a return to the more psychedelic and experimental sound of Hawkwind’s early days, with songs like “Images” and “Black Elk Speaks” incorporating ambient sounds, spoken word samples and ethnic influences. The album was well received by critics and fans alike, who praised its diversity and creativity. Space Bandits is considered one of Hawkwind’s best albums of the 1990s and a classic of the space rock genre.

Space Bandits is considered to be a minor album in Hawkwind’s discography. However, it is still a solid album with some good songs. It is worth checking out for fans of Hawkwind and space rock.


  • Dave Brock – electric guitar, keyboards, vocals (tracks 4, 6)
  • Alan Davey – bass guitar, vocals (track 3)
  • Simon House – violin
  • Harvey Bainbridge – keyboards, vocals (track 7)
  • Bridget Wishart – vocals
  • Richard Chadwick – drums

The different versions published for this album :