Styx II – Styx – 1973


Album Styx II by the band Styx
Album Styx II by the band Styx

Styx II is the second studio album by the American rock band Styx, released in 1973. The album features a blend of hard rock, progressive rock, and acoustic ballads, showcasing the diverse musical talents of the band members. Styx II is notable for containing the band’s first major hit, “Lady”, which reached number six on the Billboard Hot 100 chart. The album also includes other fan favorites, such as “You Need Love”, “A Day”, and “Father O.S.A.”. Styx II received positive reviews from critics, who praised the band’s creativity, musicianship, and songwriting. The album was certified gold by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) in 1977, and has sold over one million copies worldwide.

Styx II is considered to be an important album in the history of progressive rock. The album helped to establish Styx as one of the leading bands of the genre, and it paved the way for their even greater success in the 1970s and 1980s.


  • Produced by John Ryan
  • Engineered by Barry Mraz and Marty Feldman
  • Recorded at Paragon Recording Studios, Chicago
  • Mastered by Lee Hulko at Sterling Sound, New York
  • Cover design by Chuck Beeson and Roland Young
  • Cover photography by Jim McCrary
  • All songs written and arranged by Styx
  • John Panozzo – drums, percussion, vocals
  • Chuck Panozzo – bass guitar, vocals
  • Dennis DeYoung – keyboards, synthesizer, vocals
  • James Young – guitars, vocals
  • John Curulewski – guitars, synthesizer, autoharp, vocals

The different versions published for this album :