Tango In The Night – Fleetwood Mac – 1987


Album Tango In The Night by Fleetwood Mac
Album Tango In The Night by Fleetwood Mac

Tango in the Night is the fourteenth studio album by British-American rock band Fleetwood Mac, released on 13 April 1987 by Warner Bros. Records. It was the last album to feature the classic lineup of Lindsey Buckingham, Stevie Nicks, Christine McVie, John McVie, and Mick Fleetwood, as Buckingham left the band later that year. The album was a commercial and critical success, spawning four US top 20 hits: “Big Love”, “Seven Wonders”, “Little Lies”, and “Everywhere”. It also reached number one in the UK and Sweden, and sold over 15 million copies worldwide.

The album began as a solo project by Buckingham, who recorded most of the songs at his home studio. He invited the other members of Fleetwood Mac to contribute to the album, but Nicks was largely absent due to her drug addiction and solo career. Christine McVie wrote some of the most popular songs on the album, such as “Everywhere” and “Little Lies”, while Fleetwood and John McVie provided the rhythm section. The album’s title and cover art were inspired by a painting by Australian artist Brett-Livingstone Strong that Buckingham owned.

Tango in the Night is considered one of Fleetwood Mac’s best albums, showcasing their pop rock sensibilities and distinctive harmonies. The album has a lush and polished sound, influenced by Buckingham’s experimentation with synthesizers and drum machines. The album also reflects some of the personal tensions within the band, as Buckingham and Nicks ended their relationship and Christine McVie divorced John McVie. The album’s lyrics deal with themes of love, betrayal, and longing.

In 2017, Tango in the Night was remastered and reissued in various formats, including a deluxe edition with bonus tracks, demos, remixes, and a DVD. The album has been praised by critics and fans alike as one of Fleetwood Mac’s finest works, and a testament to their musical legacy.

Tango in the Night is a truly special album that captures the essence of Fleetwood Mac and their music. It is a must-have for any fan of pop music


  • Lindsey Buckingham – vocals, guitars, Fairlight CMI, Synclavier II, lap harp, percussion
  • Stevie Nicks – vocals
  • Christine McVie – vocals, keyboards, synthesizers
  • John McVie – bass guitar
  • Mick Fleetwood – drums, percussion

The different versions published for this album :