The American Ruse – MC5 – 1995



Album The American Ruse by the band MC5
Album The American Ruse by the band MC5

The American Ruse is an album by the American rock band MC5, released in 1995 by Total Energy Records. The album contains pre-production rehearsals for their second studio album, Back in the USA, recorded in July 1969 at GM Studios in East Detroit, Michigan. The album also includes two live tracks recorded in September 1968 at the First Unitarian Church in Detroit, Michigan. The album showcases the raw power and energy of MC5, before the producer Jon Landau stripped them of their distinctive sound. The album is dedicated to the memory of Fred Smith and Rob Tyner, two founding members of MC5 who died in the 1990s .

The album features some of MC5’s most famous songs, such as “The American Ruse”, “Looking at You”, “The Human Being Lawnmower” and “Black to Comm”. The album also includes a cover of Little Richard’s “Tutti Frutti”. The album received positive reviews from critics and fans, who praised the band’s rebellious attitude and political lyrics. The album is considered a rare and valuable collector’s item, as it was pressed in a limited edition of 10-inch vinyl records .

The American Ruse is a must-have album for any fan of MC5 or classic rock music. It is a classic album from one of the most influential rock bands of all time.

The personnel of the album The American Ruse – MC5 – 1995 are:

  • Rob Tyner – lead vocals, percussion
  • Wayne Kramer – electric guitar
  • Fred Smith – electric guitar
  • Michael Davis – electric bass
  • Dennis Thompson – drums
  • John Sinclair – producer, tenor saxophone on track 14
  • Patrick Boissel – producer, artwork, mastering

Source: Web

The different versions published for this album :