The Best Of Tubular Bells – Mike Oldfield – 2001



Album The Best Of Tubular Bells by Mike Oldfield
Album The Best Of Tubular Bells by Mike Oldfield

The Best Of Tubular Bells is a compilation album by Mike Oldfield, released in 2001. It features selections from his most famous work, Tubular Bells, as well as other instrumental pieces from his discography. The album showcases Oldfield’s talent for creating atmospheric and complex musical landscapes, blending acoustic and electronic instruments, classical and rock influences, and melodic and rhythmic motifs. The album is a perfect introduction for new listeners who want to explore Oldfield’s unique musical vision, as well as a treat for longtime fans who appreciate his mastery of sound and composition.

The Best Of Tubular Bells is a decent overview of Mike Oldfield’s early career. The album is a good introduction to the Tubular Bells series.


  • Mike Oldfield – guitars, keyboards, percussion, vocals
  • Jon Anderson – vocals on “In High Places”
  • Alan Rickman – narration on “Tubular Bells (Opening Theme)”
  • John Cleese – narration on “The Bell”
  • Billy Connolly – narration on “The Bell (MC Viv Stanshall)”
  • Sally Oldfield – vocals on “Mirage”
  • David Bedford – orchestral arrangements
  • Tom Newman – production, engineering
  • Simon Heyworth – mastering

The different versions published for this album :