The Collection – Leonard Cohen – 2008



Album The Collection by Leonard Cohen
Album The Collection by Leonard Cohen

The Collection is a compilation album by Canadian singer-songwriter Leonard Cohen, released in 2008 by Sony BMG. The album contains 18 songs from Cohen’s first seven studio albums, spanning from his debut Songs of Leonard Cohen (1967) to Recent Songs (1979). The Collection showcases Cohen’s distinctive poetic and musical style, blending folk, rock, pop and world music influences. The album features some of his most acclaimed and popular songs, such as “Suzanne”, “So Long, Marianne”, “Bird on the Wire”, “Famous Blue Raincoat” and “Hallelujah”. The Collection is a comprehensive and accessible introduction to Cohen’s early work, as well as a reminder of his enduring legacy as one of the most influential and revered songwriters of all time.

The album The Collection is a must-have for any fan of Leonard Cohen. It features a mix of his classic hits, such as “Suzanne”, “Hallelujah”, and “Bird on a Wire”, as well as some of his lesser-known gems. The album is also a good introduction to Cohen’s music for fans who are new to his work.

The personnel of the album The Collection by Leonard Cohen, released in 2008, are as follows:

    • Leonard Cohen – vocals, acoustic guitar, keyboards, production
    • John Lissauer – keyboards, woodwinds, production
    • Leanne Ungar – engineering, mixing
    • Sharon Robinson – vocals, keyboards, production
    • Anjani Thomas – vocals, keyboards
    • Bob Metzger – guitar, pedal steel guitar
    • Roscoe Beck – bass, musical director
    • Rafael Gayol – drums, percussion
    • Neil Larsen – keyboards
    • Dino Soldo – saxophone, wind instruments
    • The Webb Sisters – vocals, harp, guitar
    • Jennifer Warnes – vocals
    • Steve Meador – drums
    • Roscoe Beck – bass
    • Mitch Watkins – guitar
    • Bill Ginn – keyboards
    • Tom Brechtlein – drums
    • Paul Ostermayer – saxophone
    • Lenny Castro – percussion
    • Vinnie Colaiuta – drums
    • Bob Furgo – violin, keyboards
    • John Bilezikjian – oud, mandolin
    • Anjani Thomas – keyboards, vocals
    • Ed Sanders – engineering, mixing
    • Leanne Ungar – engineering, mixing
    • Bob Ludwig – mastering
    • Lee Herschberg – engineering
    • Henry Lewy – engineering, mixing
    • John Wood – engineering, mixing
    • Bruce Gary – drums on “Hallelujah”
    • Rick Marotta – drums on “Coming Back to You”

Source: Web

The different versions published for this album :