These Kind Of Blues – The Blues Band – 1986


These Kind Of Blues - The Blues Band
These Kind Of Blues - The Blues Band

If you are looking for a classic blues album with a modern twist, you might want to check out These Kind Of Blues by The Blues Band. This album is a collection of original songs and covers that showcase the band’s talent and passion for the genre. The Blues Band is composed of five veteran musicians who have played with some of the legends of blues and rock, such as John Mayall, Eric Clapton, and Manfred Mann. Their experience and chemistry are evident in every track, as they deliver authentic and soulful performances.

The album opens with a catchy and upbeat song called “Can’t Get My Ass In Gear”, which sets the tone for the rest of the album. The song features a catchy chorus, a harmonica solo, and some witty lyrics that reflect the band’s sense of humor. The next song is a cover of Willie Dixon’s “I’m Ready”, which is a classic blues standard that has been recorded by many artists, such as Muddy Waters, Buddy Guy, and Eric Clapton. The Blues Band gives it their own spin, with a groovy bass line, a slide guitar riff, and some powerful vocals.

The album also includes some slower and more emotional songs, such as “These Kind Of Blues”, which is the title track and one of the original songs by the band. The song is a heartfelt ballad that expresses the pain and loneliness of being away from a loved one. The song features a piano accompaniment, a saxophone solo, and some poignant lyrics that convey the band’s sincerity. Another highlight is “Nothin’ But The Blues”, which is a cover of Johnny Winter’s song. The song is a slow and bluesy number that showcases the band’s vocal harmonies and guitar skills.

The album closes with a lively and upbeat song called “Jump Up And Shout”, which is another original song by the band. The song is a fun and energetic tune that invites the listener to join the party and dance along. The song features a horn section, a piano solo, and some catchy lyrics that celebrate the joy of music.

These Kind Of Blues is an album that pays tribute to the roots of blues music while adding some fresh and original elements. The Blues Band proves that they are not only skilled musicians but also passionate fans of the genre. If you are looking for an album that will make you feel good and move your feet, you might want to give These Kind Of Blues a try.

The personnel of the album These Kind Of Blues by The Blues Band in 1986 are:

  • Paul Jones – lead vocals, harmonica
  • Dave Kelly – lead vocals, slide guitar, guitar
  • Tom McGuinness – guitar, backing vocals
  • Gary Fletcher – bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Rob Townsend – drums (on tracks 3, 5, 8)
  • Hughie Kodo Flint – drums (on other tracks)
  • Dave Green – bass (on track 6)
  • Ian Stewart – piano (on track 6)
  • John “Irish” Earle – saxophone (on track 5)
  • Dick Hanson – trumpet (on track 5)

Source: Web

The different versions published for this album :