Trespass – Genesis – 1970


Album Trespass by the band Genesis
Album Trespass by the band Genesis

Trespass is the second studio album by the English progressive rock band Genesis, released in October 1970 on Charisma Records. It is their first album to feature Phil Collins and Steve Hackett, who replaced John Mayhew and Anthony Phillips respectively. The album marked a departure from the pop-oriented sound of their debut album From Genesis to Revelation, and explored a more adventurous and diverse musical style that would become their signature in the following years. Trespass is also notable for being the only Genesis album to feature six members, as John Mayhew contributed some percussion parts before his departure.

The album consists of six tracks, ranging from pastoral acoustic pieces to complex and dark compositions. The opening track, “Looking for Someone”, showcases the vocal harmonies of Peter Gabriel, Tony Banks and Mike Rutherford, as well as the distinctive guitar sound of Steve Hackett. The second track, “White Mountain”, is a folk-inspired song about a wolf’s quest for freedom and revenge. The third track, “Visions of Angels”, is a romantic ballad with a prominent piano part by Tony Banks. The fourth track, “Stagnation”, is a progressive epic that features various tempo changes, instrumental passages and lyrical themes. The fifth track, “Dusk”, is a gentle acoustic song with a melancholic mood. The sixth and final track, “The Knife”, is a hard rock number that contrasts with the rest of the album and foreshadows the band’s future direction. It is also one of their most popular live songs.

Trespass received mixed reviews from critics at the time of its release, but has since been regarded as one of the band’s most important and influential albums. It was also a commercial success, reaching number 98 on the UK Albums Chart and number one on the Belgian Albums Chart. It has sold over half a million copies worldwide and has been certified gold by the British Phonographic Industry. Trespass is considered by many fans and critics as the first true Genesis album and the beginning of their classic era.

Trespass is a must-have album for any fan of progressive rock music. It is a classic album that showcases Genesis’s incredible talent and versatility. It is also a great introduction to the genre for new listeners.


  • Peter Gabriel – lead vocals, flute, accordion, tambourine, bass drum
  • Anthony Phillips – acoustic 12-string guitar, lead electric guitar, dulcimer, piano
  • Mike Rutherford – acoustic 12-string guitar, electric 12-string guitar, bass guitar, nylon guitar, cello
  • Tony Banks – organ, piano, Mellotron, acoustic guitar, backing vocals
  • John Mayhew – drums, percussion, backing vocals

The different versions published for this album :